• Entry

    By Invitations Only
  • Dates

    31Aug - 1 Sep 2017
  • Location

    Colombo, Sri Lanka
  • Speakers

    Professionals & Political

About the Conference

The second edition of the Indian Ocean Conference was hosted by India Foundation with S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Singapore and National Institute of Fundamental Studies, Colombo from 31 August 2017 – 1 September 2017 in Colombo. The theme in 2017 was Peace, Progress and Prosperity.

The IOR is one of the most complex regions in the world in human terms. It reposes significant endowments of strategic natural resources, tremendous ecological and human diversity, and resplendent cultural and civilizational traditions, making it arguably a pivotal harbinger to regional and global peace, progress and stability. Equally, it is a potential lodestar, offering a new template for maritime concert, cooperation and management, and societally-beneficent harness, of the vast blue economy. The vast majority in the IOR are developing countries, for whom economic development is vital for the upliftment of the masses from poverty. Peace is hence a vital condition for Progress, which in turn can lead to Prosperity

Our Speakers




Screenshot 2021-07-01 at 7.12.59 PM


1530 to 1700

On Peace

Chair: Shekhar Sinha, Former C-in-C, Western Naval Command, India
1. Rahul Roy Chaudhury, Senior Fellow for South Asia, IISS, London, UK
2. Phil Midland, Captain, U.S Navy (Retd.),USA
3. Frederic Grare, Charge de Mission Asia, Ministry Foreign Affairs, France

On Progress

Chair: G Parthasarathy, Former Ambassador, India

1. Patrick French, Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences, Ahmedabad University, India
2. Hardeep Singh Puri, Former Ambassador; Chairman, RIS, India
3. Jivanta Schottli, Research Fellow, ISAS, Singapore
4. Wang Pu Qu, Dean, Institute of State Governance Studies, Peking University, China

On Prosperity

Chair: Ashok Kantha, Former Ambassador; Director, Institute of Chinese Studies, India

1. Sanjeev Sanyal, Principal Economic Adviser, Ministry of Finance & Corporate Affairs, Government of India
2. Abdullah Salem Hamad Al Harthi, Chief of Economic & Dialogue Groups Department, Oman
3. Ashish Chauhan, CEO, Bombay Stock Exchange, India
4. Marina Jiang, Principal, Ambassadors LLC Group, China
1800 to 1915


1. H E Vincent Meriton, Vice President, Seychelles
2. H E Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister, Sri Lanka
3. Mrs Sushma Swaraj, External Affairs Minister, India
4. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Singapore
1915 to 2030


1. Mr Tofail Ahmed, Minister for Commerce, Bangladesh
2. Mr Premdut Koonjoo, Minister of Ocean Economy, Marine Resources, Fisheries and Shipping, Mauritius
3. Mr Tilak Marapana, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sri Lanka
4. Mr Iwao Horii, Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs ,Japan
5. Mr To Anh Dzung, Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs, Vietnam
1000 to 1100

Plenary I – Peace

1. Frances Adamson, Foreign Secretary, Australia
2. Alice Wells, Acting Assistant Secretary of State, USA
3. Ina Lepel, Director General for Asia and Pacific, Foreign Office, Germany
1115 to 1215

Plenary II – Peace

1. Cho Byung Jae, Chancellor, Korea National Diplomatic Academy, South Korea
2. Md Shahidul Haque, Foreign Secretary, Bangladesh
3. Siswo Pramono, Director General, Policy Analysis & Development Agency, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Indonesia
1230 to 1330

Plenary III – Peace

1. Jayantha Parera, Former Chief of Naval Staff, Sri Lanka
2. James S Hartsell, Mobilization Assistant to the Commander, U S Pacific Command, USA
1430 to 1545

Plenary IV – Progress

Chair: Ong Keng Yong, Executive Deputy Chairman, RSIS, Singapore

1. Tan Sri Rastam Mohd Isa, Chairman & Chief Executive, Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS),Malaysia
2. Ayesha Siddiqa, Author, Pakistan
3. Phongsavath Boupha, Former Minister of Presidential Office, Laos
1600 to 1715

Plenary V – Prosperity

1. Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda, Member of Parliament, India
2. Ajmal Ahmady, Advisor to President, Afghanistan
3. Sheikha Noora Bint Khalifa Al Khalifa, Entrepreneur, Bahrain
4. Ruan Zongze, Executive Vice President, China Institute of International Studies, China


IOC 2024 Live Streaming