• Entry

    By Invitations Only
  • Dates

    27-28 Aug 2018
  • Location

    Hanoi - Vietnam
  • Speakers

    Professionals & Political

About the Conference

The Indian Ocean have been at the centre of some of the oldest civilizations in the World. With sustained economic growth in the littoral countries of the Indian Ocean, this region has assumed greater salience in all realms including strategic, defence, political, economic and cultural etc.

In the twenty first century, there is a need to build new Regional Architectures in the Indian Ocean Region, and its neighbourhood in the Indo-Pacific, which would reflect present geopolitical landscape by institutional collaboration and cooperative mechanism. This would be necessary to safeguard land & maritime territories and interests; deepening economic and security cooperation in the littoral; promoting collective action to deal with natural disasters and maritime threats like piracy, terrorism and emergent non-state actors; working towards sustainable regional development through enhanced collaboration; and, engaging with countries with the aim of building greater trust and promoting respect for maritime rules, norms and peaceful resolution of disputes.

In the context of changing geopolitical contours in the Indian Ocean region, the Indian Ocean Conference 2018 would provide an opportunity to deepen the understanding of the economic and strategic importance of the region and neighborhood by focusing on Security, Trade & Commerce and Governance so as to build new regional architectures in the region for shared prosperity.

Our Speakers


Videos - 2018



1500 hrs to 1700 hrs

Pre-Conference Symposia 1 – Security Architecture

Chair: Brahma Chellaney, Author, India

1. Prof Wang Dong, Professor, Peking University, China
2. Tan See Seng, Deputy Director, Institute of Defence and Strategic Studies, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Singapore
3. Amb Munshi Faiz Ahmed, Chairman, Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies, Bangladesh
4. Dr Seyed Hossein Rezvani, Former Ambassador and fellow researcher at IPIS,Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Iran
5. Dr. Le Dinh Tinh, Deputy Director General, Bien Dong Maritime Institute, The Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam
1500 hrs to 1700 hrs

Pre-Conference Symposia 2 – Governance Architecture

Chair: Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda, Former Member of Parliament, India

1. Tan Sri Rastam Mohd Isa, Chairman and Chief Executive, Institute of Strategic & International Studies, Malaysia
2. Prasenjit Basu, Author, India
3. Gareth Bayley, Director, South Asia and Afghanistan Directorate, Foreign Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
4. Nisha Biswal, President, US-India Business Council and Former Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs, USA
5. Ambassador Nguyen Duy Hung, Former Director of ASEAN Department, MOFA, Vietnam
1545 hrs to 1715 hrs

Special Session – Maintaining Trade and Tranquility in Indo Pacific

Chair: Ashok Kantha, Director, Institute of Chinese Studies, India

1. Ms Kay Thi Soe, Director General, Strategic Studies and Training Dept, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Myanmar
2. Mr Em Sovannara, Director, Department of Political & Security Relations, International Relations Institute, Royal Academy of Cambodia
3. Mr. Ali Hussain Didi, Former High Commissioner, Maldives
4. Mr Abdullah Salem Hammad Al Harthy, Chief of Economic and Dialogue Groups Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Oman
5. Professor Pham Quang Minh, Rector, University of Social Sciences and Humanities, National University of Vietnam
1800 hrs to 1930 hrs

1. H.E Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister, Sri Lanka
2. Pham Binh Minh, Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, Vietnam
3. H.E Upendra Yadav, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Health and Population, Nepal
4. H.E Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan, Coordinating Minister of Maritime Affairs, Indonesia
5. Smt Sushma Swaraj, External Affairs Minister, India
6. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Singapore
1930 hrs onwards

Inaugural Dinner and Cultural Evening
0900 hrs to 1030 hrs

Ministers’ Panel I

1. H.E Sagala Ratnayaka, Minister of Youth Affairs, Project Management and Southern Development, Sri Lanka
2. H.E Seetanah Lutchmeenaraidoo, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade , Mauritius
3. H.E A H M Mustafa Kamal, Minister for Planning, Bangladesh
4. H.E Dr Thani Bin Ahmed Al Zeyoudi, Minister of the Climate Change and Environment, UAE
1100 hrs to 1230 hrs

Ministers’ Panel II

1. H.E Alice Wells, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs, US Department of State, USA
2. H.E Luwellyn Landers , Deputy Minister of International Relations, South Africa
3. H.E Kazuyuki Nakane , State Minister for Foreign Affairs, Japan
4. H.E Cho Byung Jae, Chancellor, Korea National Diplomatic Academy, South Korea
5. H.E William Samb, Minister Assisting Prime Minister; Deputy Leader of PANGU party, Papua New Guinea
1330 hrs to 1500 hrs

Officials’ Panel 1

1. Lordship Kriangsak Kittichaisaree, Judge, ITLOS
2. H.E Shaikh Abdulla bin Ahmed Al Khalifa, Undersecretary for International Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Chairman of DERASAT, Bahrain
3. H.E Rebecca Loustau-Lalanne, Principal Secretary in the Office of the Vice President, Seychelles
4. H.E U Myint Thu, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Myanmar
5. H.E Yi Xianliang, Director General, Department of Boundary and Ocean Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, China
6. H.E Mrs Pornpimol Kanchanalak, Advisor to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Thailand
1530 hrs to 1700 hrs

Officials’ Panel II

1. H.E Steve Dainton, Deputy Commander, Combined Maritime Forces, UK
2. H.E Richard Maude, Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Australia
3. H.E Phongsavath Boupha, Former Minister, President’s Office, Laos
4. H.E Narendra Kumar Verma, Managing Director and CEO, ONGC Videsh, India
5. H.E Seyed Mohammad Kazem Sajjadpour, Advisor to Foreign Minister, Iran
6. H.E Ajmal Ahmady, Senior Economic Advisor to President, Afghanistan
1700 hrs to 1730 hrs

Valedictory Session

1. H.E Preeti Saran, Secretary (East), Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India


IOC 2024 Live Streaming