• Entry

    By Invitations Only
  • Dates

    1-2 Sep 2016
  • Location

  • Speakers

    Professionals & Political

About the Conference

Day one of the Conference started with parallel workshop sessions on the three sub-themes of Comity, Commerce and Culture followed by the Inaugural Session and Welcome Dinner. The first parallel workshop on Comity chaired by Ambassador Parthasarathy (India), had a panel of five speakers. The first speaker Ambassador Munshi Faiz Ahmad, Chairman, BIISS in his intervention stated that “India being the great country that it is, should naturally lead the initiative of a dialogue in the Indian Ocean Region with responsibility, taking everyone else along in a fully inclusive effort”. He went on to talk about military security of the region and stressed on the need to move away from rivalry and towards co-operation. He touched upon different aspects of maritime co-operation like the challenges of piracy and trafficking in maritime navigation, the problem of unsecured and closed trade routes, exploitation of resources, dealing with natural disasters and strengthening of SAARC for a prosperous South Asia.





60 minutes

Workshop 1: Comity

Chair- Amb G Parthasarathy, Former Ambassador of India

1.       Amb Munshi Faiz Ahmad, Chairman, Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies (BIISS), Bangladesh
2.       Mr Bertil Lintner, Renowned Journalist and Author, Thailand
3.       Dr Nicolas Regaud,Special Adviser to the Director General for International Relations and Strategy, Ministry of Defence, France
Mr Lee Cordner, Visiting Fellow, Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses
60 minutes

Workshop 2: Commerce (Trade)

Chair- Amb Ashok Kantha, Former Ambassador of India

1.       Dr Sanjaya Baru, Distinguished Fellow,  International Institute of Strategic Studies (London) and  The United Services Institution of India
2.       Dr Razeen Sally, Chairman, Institute of Policy Studies, Sri Lanka
3.       Mr Ravi Velloor,  Associate Editor, Global Affairs, The Strait Times
4.       Mr Philip Green, High Commissioner to Singapore, Australia
5.       Dr Pradumna Bickram Rana, Associate Professor and Coordinator of International Political Economy Programme, RSIS, Singapore
60 minute

Workshop 3: Commerce (Investments)

Chair- Amb Ong Keng Yong, Executive Deputy Chairman, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS), Singapore

1.       Mr Ralph L. (Skip) Boyce, Vice President, Boeing International and President, Boeing Southeast Asia
2.       Mr Manraj Sekhon, CEO and CIO, Fullerton Fund Management
3.       Dr Leslie Teo Eng Sipp, Chief Economist and Director, Economics and Investment Strategy, GIC
4.       Mr N K Singh, Former Member of Parliament, India
30 minutes

Workshop 4: Culture

Chair-  Dr Patrick French, Renowned Writer, Biographer and Historian, United Kingdom

1.       Dr S Kalyanaraman, Co-Director, Saraswati Research Center, Chennai, India
2.       Mr Tissa Jayatilaka, Executive Director of the Sri Lanka Fulbright Commission, Sri Lanka
3.       Ms Moe Thuzar,  Fellow, Lead Researcher (Socio-Cultural Affairs), ASEAN Studies Centre & Coordinator, ISEAS, Myanmar
Mr. Kwa Chong Guan, Senior Fellow, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS), Singapore
1930 - 2100 hrs

In charge-

Special Address- Smt Sushma Swaraj, Minister of External Affairs, India
Inaugural Address -  Mr Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister, Sri Lanka
1. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Singapore
2. Mr Nitin Gadkari, Minister of Road, Transport and Highways, India

Plenary 1: Comity

Chair: Mr Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, Foreign Minister, Bangladesh

Keynote:  Mr Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, Former President, Maldives
1.       Mr Nobuo Kishi, State Minister of Foreign Affairs, Japan
2.       Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed, Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, Malaysia

Plenary 2: Comity

Chair: Amb Hardeep Singh Puri, Former Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, India

1.       Admiral Sunil Lanba, Chief of Naval Staff, India
2. Rear Admiral Donald Gabrielson,  Commander, Logistics Group Western Pacific, USA

Plenary 2 – Commerce

Chair: Shri M J Akbar, Minister of State for External Affairs, India

1.       Dr Hung-Mao Tien, Chairman of the Board, Institute for National Policy Research, Taiwan
2.       Ms Nisha Biswal, Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asia, US Department of State, USA
3. Mr Jay Panda, Member of Parliament, India

Plenary 3 – Culture

Chair:  Prof Lokesh Chandra, President, ICCR, India

  Keynote: Mr Vira Rojpojchanarat, Minister of Culture, Government of Thailand
1.       Dr Shashi Tharoor, Former Minister of State for External Affairs, India
2.       Mr SantaramBaboo ,Minister of Arts and Culture, Mauritius
3.       Mr S.B Navinna, Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Culture Affairs, Sri Lanka
4. Mr A. Kohilan Pillay , Former Deputy Foreign Minister, Malaysia

Valedictory Session

Chair- Amb Kanwal Sibal, Former Foreign Secretary, India

Valedictory Address-
H. H. Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Founder, Art of Living Foundation
60 minutes


Chair: Mr ĐặngĐìnhQuý , Deputy Foreign Minister, Vietnam
Keynote:  Dr S Jaishankar, Foreign Secretary, India


IOC 2024 Live Streaming